



WHEREAS,

On August 26, 2021, our Nation lost thirteen brave service members during a dishonorable attack against our allies and civilians at Hamid Karzai International Airport in Kabul, Afghanistan; eleven United States Marines, one Fleet Marine Force Navy Corpsman, and one United States Army soldier; and



WHEREAS,

in an act of supreme devotion to mission, they gave their lives so that others may be free of oppression under a brutal regime, and they acted with the courage, selflessness, and professionalism exhibited by the United States Armed Forces; and



WHEREAS,

The U.S. House of Representatives voted to posthumously award the Congressional Gold Medal to the 13 American service members killed in the attack;



WHEREAS,

and the names of the fallen heroes are: Marine Corps Lance Cpl. David L. Espinoza, Marine Corps Sgt. Nicole L. Gee, Marine Corps Staff Sgt. Darin T.



Hoover, Army Staff Sgt. Ryan C. Knauss, Marine Corps Cpl. Hunter Lopez, Marine Corps Lance Cpl. Rylee J. McCollum, Marine Corps Lance Cpl. Dylan R. Merola, Marine Corps Lance Cpl. Kareem M. Nikoui, Marine Corps Sgt. Johanny Rosario Pichardo,



Marine Corps Cpl. Humberto A. Sanchez, Marine Corps Lance Cpl. Jared M. Schmitz, Navy Hospital Corpsman Maxton W. Soviak, and Marine Corps Cpl.



Daegan W. Page;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Fulton County Board of Commissioners recognizes the ultimate sacrifice of our fallen heroes in service of our highest American ideals on the second anniversary of the attack, and does hereby proclaim Saturday, August 26, 2023 as "KABUL, ANISTAN FALLEN HEROES REMEMBRANCE DAY" in

Fulton County Board of Commissioners

AFGHANIST	AN FAL
Fulton County,	Georgia.

Commission

Attest:

Clerk to the Commission