

WHEREAS,

The National Alliance of Artists from historically black colleges and universities is known as NAAHBCU, and in 1999, Dr. Lee Ransaw, Dean of Arts and Letters, and Chair of the Fine Arts department, invited artists and educators to Morris Brown College to address support and recognition of HBCU artists through workshops, exhibitions, and scholarly presentations; and



WHEREAS,

in 1999, the faculty of the Fine Art Department of Morris Brown College supporting the founding of NAAHBCU and the vision of Dr. Lee Ransaw were artists Louis Delsarte, Roosevelt Leonard, Rupert Nedd, Fred Ajano and gallery director LaMarr Wilson; and



WHEREAS,

the founding officers were: Dr. Lee Ransaw, (President) Morris Brown College, Dr. Peggy Blood (Treasurer), Professor and Chair of Fine Art Dept. at Savannah State University, Phillip R. Dotson (Vice President), Professor of Art and Program Director, LeMoyne Owen College, Marvettee Pratt Aldridge (Secretary), Assistant Professor of Art at Winston-Salem State University, Professor William Anderson of Morehouse College, Professor Hassan Kirkland of Johnson C. Smith University, Associate Professor Charmelle Holloway of Spelman College, Assistant Professor Anita B. Knox of Talladega College, and Associate Professor Johnnie Mae (Gilbert) Maberry (Historian), Chair of the Visual Arts Dept. at Tugaloo College; and



WHER

WHEREAS, over the past twenty-five years the National Alliance of Artists from

HBCU's has grown from approximately twenty Charter HBCU's to include more than forty colleges and universities; and



WHEREAS,

since 1999, NAAHBCU has mounted over 75 exhibitions, participated in over 30 conferences, mounted at least 6 significant international exhibitions, published over 30 scholarly publications and exhibited in more than fifteen U.S. states; and



WHEREAS,

its membership includes artists with national and international reputations and educators who have mentored emerging artists through mentoring undergraduate and graduate students with exhibitions and scholarships; and



WHEREAS,

in 2020, under the leadership of NAAHBCU President Dr. Peggy Blood, two successful art exhibits were held in Asian museums and galleries in the states of Kerala; Goa; Udaipur; Varanasi; Shantiniketan; and Kolkata, India, and in 2023, in Shanghai, China;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Fulton County Board of Commissioners recognizes the NAAHBCU's 25th anniversary, and does hereby proclaim Friday, March 1, 2024 as "THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF ARTISTS FROM HISTORICALLY BLACK COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES APPRECIATION DAY" in Fulton County, Georgia.

Fulton County Board of Commissioners

	Commissioner	
Attest:		

Clerk to the Commission