

Fulton County

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	23-0566	Version: 1	Name:		
Туре:	Consent - Hea Services	lth and Human	Status:	Agenda Ready	
File created:	7/19/2023		In control:	Board of Commissioners	
On agenda:	9/6/2023		Final action	:	
Title:	Request approval to execute the 2024-2026 Cooperation Agreements with the cities of Alpharetta, College Park, East Point, Fairburn, Hapeville, Mountain Park, Palmetto and Union City for continued participation in the federal Community Development Block Grant (CDBG), HOME, and ESG program (if awarded to the County) for fiscal years 2024, 2025 and 2026; authorizing the County Attorney to approve the Cooperation Agreements as to form and to make modifications thereto prior to execution by the Chairman; authorizing the Chairman and the County Attorney to execute and deliver all related documents necessary to implement these agreements. (APPROVED UPON ADOPTION OF THE CONSENT AGENDA)				
Sponsors:					
Indexes:					
Code sections:					
Attachments:	1. Milton-CDBG.2023.Declination, 2. College Park CDBG Cooperation Agreement, 3. Hapeville CDBG Cooperation Agreement, 4. Alpharetta CDBG Cooperation Agreement, 5. East Point CDBG Cooperation Agreement, 6. Union City CDBG Cooperation Agreement, 7. Palmetto CDBG Cooperation Agreement, 8. Fairburn CDBG Cooperation Agreement, 9. Mountain Park CDBG Cooperation Agreement, 10. 2023-0566				
Date	Ver. Action By			Action	Result

Department

Community Development

Requested Action (Identify appropriate Action or Motion, purpose, cost, timeframe, etc.)

Request approval to execute the 2024-2026 Cooperation Agreements with the cities of Alpharetta, College Park, East Point, Fairburn, Hapeville, Mountain Park, Palmetto and Union City for continued participation in the federal Community Development Block Grant (CDBG), HOME, and ESG program (if awarded to the County) for fiscal years 2024, 2025 and 2026; authorizing the County Attorney to approve the Cooperation Agreements as to form and to make modifications thereto prior to execution by the Chairman; authorizing the Chairman and the County Attorney to execute and deliver all related documents necessary to implement these agreements. (APPROVED UPON ADOPTION OF THE CONSENT AGENDA)

Requirement for Board Action (*Cite specific Board policy, statute or code requirement*)

O.C.G.A. § 36-10-1 requires that all contracts with the County shall be in writing and entered on the meeting minutes of its governing body.

Strategic Priority Area related to this item (If yes, note strategic priority area below)

Health and Human Services

Commission Districts Affected

All Districts⊠District 1□District 2□District 3□District 4□District 5□

District 6

Is this a purchasing item?

No

Summary & Background (First sentence includes Agency recommendation. Provide an executive summary of the action that gives an overview of the relevant details for the item.)

Request approval for the Chairman of the Board of Commissioners to execute the 2024-2026 Cooperation Agreements with the cities of Alpharetta, College Park, East Point, Fairburn, Hapeville, Mountain Park, Palmetto and Union City for continued participation in the federal Community Development Block Grant (CDBG), HOME, and ESG program (if awarded to the County) for fiscal years 2024, 2025 and 2026.

Every three years, Fulton County Government, as the grantee for the Fulton County Urban County CDBG Program, is required to re-qualify to receive a direct entitlement allocation of Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funds. Invitations to continue participation in Fulton County's Urban County were sent to participating municipalities on May 15, 2023. The City of Milton was the only municipality that elected to decline participation.

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) has determined that Fulton County, Georgia possesses the powers necessary to undertake essential community development and housing assistance activities in the unincorporated areas of the County and incorporated municipalities through its Cooperation Agreement with the following units of local government: Alpharetta, College Park, East Point, Fairburn, Hapeville, Mountain Park, Palmetto and Union City.

The execution of the 2024-2026 Cooperation Agreement will bind Fulton County and the units of local government for a period of three-years and will automatically renew in successive three-year qualification periods, unless changes in the Agreement are required by HUD that would necessitate the execution of a new Agreement and/or unless the participating municipality elects to be excluded from the Agreement at the beginning of each three-year cycle.

Funding identified in the Cooperation Agreement is provided from Community Development Block Grant entitlement funding (CDBG funds under Title I of the Housing and Community Development Act of 1974, as amended, the HOME Investment Partnerships Program funds, and if awarded, the Emergency Solutions Grant (ESG) funds). These funds and income derived from the expenditures of CDBG, HOME and ESG funds (as applicable) will be used to address certain needs of predominately low- and moderate-income persons and will be made available for Federal Fiscal Years 2024, 2025, and 2026.

Scope of Work: Through an annual application process, Fulton County works with Units of Local

Governments to identify and support local community development activities using CDBG, ESG and HOME funding.

Community Impact: When awarded, CDBG, ESG and HOME grants provide gap funding to a variety of local based programs and projects that primarily benefit low to moderate income citizens.

Department Recommendation: Approve the 2024-2026 Cooperation Agreements with Alpharetta, College Park, East Point, Fairburn, Hapeville, Mountain Park, Palmetto and Union City.

Project Implications: If not approved, the County will not be able to work collaboratively with these Fulton County municipalities for this federal funding.

Department Issues/Concerns: There are no community issues or concerns regarding the Cooperation Agreements with the cities of Alpharetta, College Park, East Point, Fairburn, Hapeville, Mountain Park, Palmetto and Union City.

Fiscal Impact / Funding Source

Funding Line 1:

n/a